University Housing Committee Meeting

3/23/18, 1:30 - 3:30, D.H. Hill Library Administrative Conference Room

Introductions

Zach Lewis, Bob Pond, Andy DeRoin, Susan Grant, Tanya Washington (for Raymond Harrison)

Agenda & Minutes

Report from Emily Lambeth, President of IRC

- We have elected two new positions for the 2018-2019 year (NCC and Programming)
- Run. Dance. Glow is this weekend! and our welcome magazine is coming along nicely
- We have begun planning our celebratory banquet and nominating individuals that we feel deserve recognition for their service
- We have been conducting assessment on our semester which is promising and developing leadership workshops for our members.

Reports from Susan Grant

- Intersection of financial aid and housing
 - Confirmed that students can indicate financial hardship in their appeal to be exempt from living on campus.
- Possible change in drinking regulations
 - No change from current alcohol policies.
 - SG will provide an analysis of alcohol use for the committee's end of the year report
- Bathroom update
 - If suite buildings have an open, unlocked suite door, the bathroom will remain how it is.
 - Corridor style buildings that have locked bathrooms will have the locks removed.
- Card reader update (on bedroom doors)
 - Cost per door went from \$600 to \$1800 which is now prohibitive
- 2018/19 room assignments
 - Just shy of 3,000 applications. Housing has reserved 4,700 rooms.
 - Added an additional exemption available to students living in their family home within 10 miles of NC State campus (63 students potentially fall in this category). Only 14 students total have active exemption applications.

- 500 upperclass students applied for housing they will not all get spaces on campus. Rising sophomores were given priority.
- Lifestyle questions did not change with this round of assignments as Housing was still using the existing assignment management system. New system is being prepped for installation and will be used for the spring 2019 semester.
- ZL suggested OkCupid style matching to create a compatibility score

2018/19 Chair Election

• Will be email

For Future Discussion

• Topics of discussion or concern?

March 29th follow-up

March 23, 2018 Sydney Thompson emailed the committee regarding the need to vote in our 2018-19 committee chair. The committee has four eligible committee members (current voting members whose terms end June 2019 or 2020). Three declined nomination. Andy DeRoin accepted nomination. A vote was conducted via email: Kaelin Saul motioned to approve Andy DeRoin as the 2018-2019 University Housing Committee Chair, and Stacey Davey seconded.

Vote results:

For: Kaelin Saul Kristin Thoney-Barletta Sydney Thompson Samuel Pond Khadija Parker Zachary Lewis Andy DeRoin Jaren Smith Rajade Berry-James

Against:

Abstain: Rob Rucker Josh Mitchell Brooke Patterson

The motion to approve Andy DeRoin as the 2018-2019 University Housing Committee Chair is carried by majority vote with 9 for, 0 against, and 3 abstentions.