Standing Committee NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY

Committee on International Programs 2:00 – 3:30 pm April 26th 2018 Talley Student Center, Room 3222

Committee members present (check applicable):

1. Michael Garval (Chairperson)	Х	2. David Aspnes	Х
3. Michael Evans (Co-chairperson)	Х	4. Fikret Isik	Х
5. Karan Sagi		6. Linyou Cao	
7. Siddhartha Thakur	Х	8. Marina Bykova	Х
9. Rebecca Dunning		10. Lingjuan Li	Х
11. Helen Armstrong		12. Cynthia Istook	
13. Martin W. King	Х	14. Kony Chatterjee	
15. Claudia Rodriguez	Х	16. Markus Wust	Х
17. Valeriia Litvinova		18. Patrice Nealon	Х
19. Michael Bustle (XO)		20. Elizabeth James (XO)	Х
21. Ingrid Schmidt (XO)		22. Anna Dunaway (Lamm) (XO)	
23. Bailian Li (XONV)	Х	24. Kamon Hester (XONV)	Х

1. Meeting Called to Order and Quorum.

Michael Garval, (Chairperson) called the meeting to order at 2:03 pm. It was determined that a quorum was present and so the meeting could conduct business.

The following individuals were also present:

Chantell LaPan	Office of Global Engagement	
Courtney Thornton	Associate VP of Academic Personnel & Policy	

2. Minutes of Previous Two Meetings.

The minutes from the previous two meetings held on February 22nd 2018 and March 22nd 2018 were reviewed. Upon a motion duly made by David Aspnes, and seconded by Lingjuan Li, it was moved that the minutes of the last two meetings on February 22nd 2018 and March 22nd 2018 be approved as circulated. Approved, nem con.

International Programs Committee NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY April 26th 2018

3. Sabbatical / Scholarly Leave Proposal.

Marina Bykova, representing both the Faculty Senate and CHASS, presented her draft proposal which indicated that a 6 month leave with full pay every seventh year would be a future condition of employment for full-time faculty members at NC State University. The specific academic plan for the proposed leave would need to be approved by the faculty member's Department Head and Dean. Faculty members at other universities in the public UNC university system, already enjoy this opportunity for taking a sabbatical / scholarly leave every seventh year, and this arrangement enables in a very positive manner those universities to undertake international collaboration, teaching & research.

Courtney Thornton, Associate Vice-Provost for Academic Personnel and Policy, identified two ways to strengthen this proposal. First it needs to indicate the cost associated with a seventh of faculty members in each College being on leave at any point in time. The Provost needs to see the dollar figures for each college. The second requirement is to show how much more competitive the employment conditions are at other universities in the public UNC system compared to those at NC State University. Currently there are about 60 faculty members at NC State who are taking some type of leave which has been requested and approved on an individual basis. UNC Chapel Hill, for example, has central funds available and a foundation that faculty members can apply to for financial support while on leave.

After a general discussion by members of the CIP in favor of supporting this proposal, it was decided to ask Marina Bykova to submit a revised proposal to the Faculty Senate for consideration and to ask the NC State University Office of Academic Personnel and Policy for future support. Courtney Thornton will ask the Vice-Provost, Katherine Stewart, for future administrative support for this proposal once it has been considered and endorsed by the Faculty Senate.

4. Committee Leadership and Administrative Support.

The Chairperson, Michael Garval, reported that during the next academic year, 2018-19, the Chairperson of the CIP will be Michael Evans, the representative from the College of Education. The Vice-Chairperson will be Siddhartha Thakur, the representative from the College of Veterinary Medicine. Chantell LaPan informed the CIP that during the next academic year she will no longer be able to provide administrative support for the CIP. She was thanked for her contribution to the work of the CIP, and next year her co-ordinating role will continue to be provided by the Office of Global Engagement.

To enable there to be improved attendance by College representatives at next year's CIP meetings, Chantell LaPan will circulate a Doodle Poll to all continuing members who will be asked to select the best days and times during the week when they will be free to attend CIP meetings. The selected days and times will then be sent to all College administrations to ensure that the new representatives that they appoint will be free and available to attend the CIP meetings.

5. Draft of Annual Report.

Michael Garval presented a draft of the activities and recommendations that he plans to include in his CIP Annual Report for 2017-18. Members made suggestions about changes he should include in his revised version of his Annual Report. Michael Garval agreed to include these suggestions and to circulate his revised Annual Report for 2017-18 to CIP members prior to submitting it to the Office of Global Engagement.

International Programs Committee NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY April 26th 2018

6. Jackson Rigney Award for 2018-19

There was discussion by the CIP on how to facilitate consideration of the many nominations for the Jackson Rigney Award during the 2018-19 academic year. It is believed that colleagues in each college are better able to judge the contribution of their peers, rather than relying on members of the CIP to identify the superior candidates. Upon a motion duly made by Siddhartha Thakur and seconded by Marina Bykova, it was moved that during the 2018-19 academic year each college or administrative unit will nominate only one candidate for the Jackson Rigney Outstanding Career Award. Approved, nem con.

7. Words of Appreciation for the Chair

In view of the fact that this was the last CIP meeting that Michael Garval will chair, many sincere thanks were expressed to Michael Garval for his dedicated service as the Chairperson of the CIP for the 2017-18 Academic Year.

8. Adjournment.

Upon a motion duly made by Martin King, and seconded by Lingjuan Li, it was moved that in view of the fact that there was no further business, the meeting adjourn at 3:33 pm. Approved, nem con.

CHAIR SIGNATURE				
Chair Name: (Print) Michael D. Garval	Chair Signature:	Date: June 1, 2018		