North Carolina State University

Group Insurance & Benefits Committee (GIBC)

Monday, April 24, 2023

1:00 pm

via Zoom

<u>Members Present:</u> Gwen Hazlehurst, Janice Sitzes, Jonathan Holloway, Lynn Whittenberger, Jill Phipps, Carrie Levow, Cheryl Xu, Stephen Porter, Glen Almond, Heidi Schweizer, Craig Friend

Members Absent: Tracy Brown, Katie Jennings, Duane Akroyd

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Ex-Officio Members Absent: Gareth Washington, Steve Norris, Margaret Erickson

Call to Order: Gwen Hazlehurst, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:04 pm.

Minutes: The committee reviewed and approved the March 13, 2023 meeting minutes.

Old Business:

Bereavement Leave Update from Staff Assembly Meeting

Member Jill Phipps provided an update regarding the Bereavement leave proposal following the UNC Staff Assembly meeting. Jill presented the policy as the committee had previously discussed to have five additional days of leave for benefit eligible employees to utilize for bereavement. Jill had found a previous record of a bereavement leave proposal from 2007 in which she shared with the committee and the UNC Staff Assembly Chair, Crystal Woods. This policy proposed the addition of three days of bereavement leave for the death of an immediate family member. In addition, Jill has been in communication with Crystal Woods in regards to the bereavement leave policy by email.

Member Carrie Levow added that the previous bereavement leave proposal in 2007 was not approved and that to her recollection there was not a separate bereavement leave policy outside of the using sick leave for bereavement purposes. Member Janice Sitzes asked if the reason it was not approved was known. Member Jill Phipps expressed that she was not aware, but would communicate with Crystal Woods to find the reason. Jill is hopeful that due to some big changes in benefits offered to employees (such as the retiree medical coverage) the UNC Staff Assembly will recognize and approve the need for the proposed bereavement leave policy.

New Business:

Elect 2023-2024 Committee Chair

Carrie Levow has been nominated and elected committee chair for 2023-2024.

Adjournments

Gwen Hazlehurst, Chair, adjourned the meeting at 1:24 pm.