

Evaluation of Teaching Committee Monday, February 24, 2025 2:00 -3:00 pm via Zoom

Facilitator: Dr. Jackie Bruce (Chair)

Members Present: Jackie Bruce, Neal Parker, Whitney Jones, Melissa Srougi, Timothy Drake, Florence Martin, Kirsten Paige, Diane Chapman, Grae Desmond, Frankie Frink.

Members Absent: Shweta Trivedi, Holly Hulburt, Sanem Soyarslan, Kirsti Cole, Pierre Gremaud, Shubam Rawat, Emilee Boot, Karley Lusby, Nicholas Cooke, Jodie Roberson, Frankie Frink, Carla Delcambre.

**Call To Order**: The meeting was called to order at 2:03 pm by Dr. Jackie Bruce, It was advised that the meeting would be recorded for use in capturing the Minutes and the recording would not be shared publicly.

**Approval of Minutes:** The <u>November 12, 2024</u> meeting minutes were approved. Motion to approve the minutes was made by Dr. Neal Parker and seconded by Dr. Timothy Drake.

## 1. Discussions:

- a. Changing the Name of Class Eval.
  - i. The suggested name was Student Feedback to Improve Instruction.
  - ii. Faculty Senate wanted to keep the original name of Class Eval.
  - 1. The committee decided not to discuss the name change of Class Eval.
- b. Changing the window for Class Eval.
  - i. A question was asked by faculty members regarding opening the timeframe of evaluations earlier and keeping the timeframe open later for students.
    - 1. The definition of the timeframes is by regulation which means that the regulation would have to change along with the recommendation.
    - 2. It was suggested to include an explanation (of "Why") on the ISA website to clarify the reasoning behind the regulation.
    - 3. It was suggested that future committees develop an FAQ page addressing common questions from faculty members.
- c. The Subcommittee's met in breakout rooms to discuss the following:
  - i. **Best Practices for Collecting Student Evaluation Data** Timothy Drake and Florence Martin.
    - 1. <u>Best Practices for Student's Evaluation</u>
  - ii. **Best Practices for How to Use Student Evals in RPT** Neal Parker, Frankie Frink and Kirsten Paige.
  - iii. **Peer Evaluation Forms** Diane Chapman, Melissa Srougi and Whitney Jones.
- 2. Adjournment
- a. The meeting was adjourned at 2:33 p.m.

Next Meeting: Tuesday, March 25, 2025 at 9 a.m.