NC STATE Evaluation of Teaching Minutes / via Zoom

Date	09/26/2022 / Time: 10:00 - 11:00 am					
Invitees /						
Attendance	Р	James Bartlett	Р	April Fogleman	Р	Jason Swarts
	Р	Carla Delcambre	Р	Holly Hurlburt	Р	Whitney Jones
	Р	Grae Desmond	Р	Rishika Rishika	А	Andrey Kuznetsov
	Р	Roger Narayan	Р	Ying Xi	Α	Pierre Gremaud
	Р	Diane Chapman	Р	Alice Lee	Α	Beth Wright Fath
from last meeting	 The meeting was called to order in Zoom at 10:00 a.m. with a quorum present. It was advised that the meeting would be recorded for use in capturing the Minutes and the recording would not be shared publicly. Dr. Ed Gehringer presented a project to the committee that he is proposing to the National Science Foundation EHR (Education Human Resources) Program regarding student evaluations of teaching. The proposed idea is that most of the work that has been done in student evaluations of teaching is through numeric ratings; Dr. Gehringer proposes that there is a lot of benefit to this process if the comments can be analyzed and feedback be given to instructors in a semi automated way. Focusing on ratings (numbers) is counter productive and the use of narrative comments can overcome some of the issues, but currently it is hard to use those comments. The intervention/proposal would focus on natural language processing, along with support of faculty developers. If these proposed ideas can be accomplished, Dr. Gehringer feels that it could break new ground in a new method for improving teaching. There is a three step approach that Dr. Gehringer is exploring:					

at other courses where students have made similar comments and suggestions and then present them to the original instructor to offer helpful feedback.

Presentation follow up:

- v. Dr. Bartlett and Dr. Chapman (Office for Faculty Excellence) were contacted over the summer by Dr. Gehringer regarding this proposal to see if the Evaluation of Teaching Committee would support this project by promoting it for the purposes of recruiting individuals to participate in the study.
- vi. The Office for Faculty Excellence will direct individuals to Dr. Gehringer if they inquire, but will not be sponsoring the study.
 - Is there anything that the committee members would like to propose to help support this study? (i.e. - make others aware that this study would be going on if it was funded in the future)?
- 3. The <u>August 29, 2022 Minutes were approved</u>. Motion to approve by Dr. April Fogleman, seconded by Dr. Carla Delcambre.

Core Class Evaluation Questions

Discussion 1

- 4. A link for Proposed Changes To On-campus ClassEval was provided to the committee for review and discussions.
- 5. A link for BIT 567 201 Sample on Campus Course Questionaire was shared with the committee.
- 6. A link to Institutional Strategy and Analysis Instruments was shared with the committee.
 - a. Questions 1, 9 and 10 of the Proposed Changes To On-campus ClassEval were changed in the last revision (Fall 2021).
 - b. The committee focused on question #2 for discussion:
 - i. 2. The instructor was available to students during office hours.
 - ii. The committee revised question #2 to state: The instructor was receptive to scheduling meetings outside the classroom.
 - 1. Is there a university policy on office hours?
 - 2. A link was shared regarding this policy. https://policies.ncsu.edu/regulation/reg-02-20-13/?archive=true
 - 3. Is there a deadline for making recommendations?
 - a. Generally the revisions go in for the next Fall.
 - 4. The committee decided to go through all of the core questions, make revisions and then vote on them for recommendations.

Award Committees for Teaching Awards

Discussion 2

- 7. The Evaluation of Teaching Committee is responsible for having individuals on the following:
 - a. Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching (Dr. James Bartlett).
 - b. Provost's Award for Excellence in Teaching (professional faculty only) (Dr. April Fogleman).
 - c. Outstanding Teacher Award (Dr. Whitney Jones).
 - d. Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award (Dr. Jason Swarts).
 - e. Gertrude Cox Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology (Dr. Alice Lee).
 - f. EOT Student Representative (Ms. Ying Xi).

(These 5 areas requires EOT Committee Members to have individuals on the Board).

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Next Meeting:

Monday, October 24, 2022 / 10:00 - 11:00 a.m.